Do you follow someone who often clutters your newsfeed with unpleasant tweets? Sometimes you want to stop following someone on Twitter but don't want to offend them in public. So, how tomute someone on Twitter, and what happens when you mute someone on Twitter?
If the individual is a close friend or family member, for example, you may want to keep in touch with them occasionally to hear what they have to say. It probably seems excessive to block. Additionally, if you block someone on Twitter, you won't be able to communicate with them at all.
If you are unable to unfollow or ban this user, you can mute them on Twitter to avoid having to put up with their daily tweetstorms. So, what happens when you mute someone on Twitter?
By using the mute feature, you can stop receiving Tweets from a certain account without unfollowing or blocking it. You can unmute accounts at any moment, and they won't be aware that you've done so.
How to Mute and Block Someone on Twitter
- Visit the person's Twitter account page that you want to mute.
- Press the button marked with three dots. It can be found in the upper right corner of mobile screens. It is two buttons to the left of the follow button on desktop.
- From the list's bottom, choose "Mute."
When you mute someone on Twitter, their tweets are no longer displayed in your Twitter feed, and you are not informed when the person interacts with one of your tweets.
You continue to appear among their followers, and they are still able to contact you through other means on the website, like direct messaging, but you can no longer view their Tweets in your news feed.
Because the person you've muted won't know, you won't have to deal with awkward "why did you mute me?" discussions. If you want to cease viewing someone's tweets without alienating them, this is the ideal approach.
There is no way to know if a user has muted you.
You might have chosen to get notified on your phone when a follower tweets. If so, these notifications will not be affected by words and hashtags being muted. Even if these accounts' Tweets contain words or hashtags that you have muted, you will still get these mobile notifications from them.
Muting is better than blocking. Muting reduces harassment of the media organization and its employees on social media: Users who have been muted are unaware that they have been muted, and the targeted account is not notified of their nasty tweets. However, blocked users are informed, which could lead to a backlash and further harassment.
Yes, All of your tweets, retweets, and likes are visible to muted users. On the other side, their posts do not appear on your feed. They can still send you messages, favourite, retweet, and quote your tweets.
What happens when you mute someone on Twitter? The first thing to understand about muted accounts is that if you've previously followed them, they'll still be on your "following" list.
They will continue to be a follower if they have already done so. Therefore, muting an account does not prevent someone from following you if they haven't already, nor does it prevent you from doing the same.